Log In
ಜೂನ್ 1 ರಿಂದ 9ರವರೆಗೆ ಉಡುಪಿಯ ಕಡಿಯಾಳಿ ಶ್ರೀ ಮಹಿಷಮರ್ದಿನಿ ದೇವಸ್ಥಾನದ ಬ್ರಹ್ಮಕಲಶೋತ್ಸವ…

ಥಾಮಸ್ ಕಪ್ 2022: ಇದೇ ಮೊದಲ ಬಾರಿಗೆ ಚಾಂಪಿಯನ್ ಪಟ್ಟ ಅಲಂಕರಿಸಿದ ಭಾರತ/ India win Thomas Cup, make badminton HISTORY

ನವದೆಹಲಿ: ಥಾಮಸ್ ಕಪ್ 2022 ಫೈನಲ್ ನಲ್ಲಿ ಭಾರತೀಯ ಬ್ಯಾಡ್ಮಿಂಟನ್ ತಂಡವು 14 ಬಾರಿಯ ಚಾಂಪಿಯನ್ ಇಂಡೋನೇಷ್ಯಾವನ್ನು 3-0 ಅಂತರದಿಂದ ಸೋಲಿಸುವ ಮೂಲಕ ಇತಿಹಾಸವನ್ನು ಸೃಷ್ಟಿಸಿದೆ.

ಈ ತಂಡವನ್ನು ಸೋಲಿಸುವ ಮೂಲಕ ಭಾರತ ಇತಿಹಾಸ ನಿರ್ಮಿಸಿ ಚೊಚ್ಚಲ ಬಾರಿಗೆ ಥಾಮಸ್ ಕಪ್ ಪ್ರಶಸ್ತಿ ಗೆದ್ದುಕೊಂಡಿತು.

ಭಾರತದ ಪರ ಲಕ್ಷ್ಯ ಸೇನ್ ಅವರು ಇಂಡೋನೇಷ್ಯಾದ ಆಂಥೋನಿ ಗಿಂಟಿಂಗ್ ಅವರನ್ನು 21-8 17-21 16-21 ರಿಂದ ಸೋಲಿಸಿ ತಂಡಕ್ಕೆ ಪ್ರಮುಖ 1-0 ಮುನ್ನಡೆ ನೀಡಿದರು. 

ಇದಾದ ಬಳಿಕ ಡಬಲ್ಸ್‌ನಲ್ಲಿ ಭಾರತದ ಸಾತ್ವಿಕ್ ಮತ್ತು ಚಿರಾಗ್ ಜೋಡಿ 18-21, 23-21, 21-19 ಅಂತರದಲ್ಲಿ ಗೆದ್ದು ತಂಡಕ್ಕೆ 2-0 ಮುನ್ನಡೆ ತಂದುಕೊಟ್ಟರು. ನಂತರ ಮೂರನೇ ಪಂದ್ಯದಲ್ಲಿ ಕಿಡಂಬಿ ಶ್ರೀಕಾಂತ್ 21-15, 23-21 ನೇರ ಗೇಮ್ ಗಳಿಂದ ಜೋನಾಥನ್ ಅವರನ್ನು ಸೋಲಿಸಿ ತಂಡಕ್ಕೆ ಐತಿಹಾಸಿಕ ಜಯದೊಂದಿಗೆ 3-0 ಮುನ್ನಡೆ ತಂದುಕೊಟ್ಟರು.

India created badminton history, shocking 14-time champions Indonesia 3-0 in the final to win the Thomas Cup for the first time, in Bangkok, on Sunday.

Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth and the doubles combination of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty turned in superlative performances in their respective matches to earn the underdogs an unexpected, thumping victory

Then, the doubles combination of Rankireddy and Shetty also overcame the loss of the opening game and saved four match-points in the second to get the better of Mohammad Ahsan and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo 18-21, 23-21, 21-19 and register the most sensational victory of their career and put India 2-0 up in the contest.

Next up, Srikanth took on Christie in the second singles. The Indian raced to an 8-2 lead before Christie levelled at 9.

Srikanth used the toss and drop effectively to regain the lead and extended it to 15-11, but the Indonesian, who had 5-4 record going into the match and two close victories over Srikanth this year, fought back to cut the deficit to 14-15.

But that was all the leeway the Indonesian was allowed as Srikanth raced away with the next points to take the first game 21-15.

It was neck and neck battle in the second game till 7-all as the lead kept changing hands. Srikanth then stepped up the pace and led 11-7 and 13-10. The Indonesian fought back, levelled the score and led 17-15.

Srikanth did well to draw level at 18 and forge ahead 19-18. Christie made 19-all and moved to game point. Srikanth saved two game points before sealing the contest 23-21.

It was a memorable triumph for India. While Indonesia made the final with an unbeaten record, India lost just one match — to Chinese Taipei — in the group stage.

If Indonesia disposed off mighty China and Japan in the knock-out stage, India went past five-time former champions Malaysia and 2016 winners Denmark.
In 30 Thomas Cup tournaments since 1948–1949, only five countries have won it. Indonesia is the most successful team, having won 14 times.

China, who did not compete till 1982, have 10 titles. Malaysia have won the Cup five times and Japan and Denmark once each.

No Comments

Leave A Comment