Log In
ಉಡುಪಿ ಶ್ರೀಲಕ್ಷ್ಮೀವೆ೦ಕಟೇಶ ದೇವಸ್ಥಾನದಲ್ಲಿ ಈ ಬಾರಿ ನಡೆಯ ಬೇಕಾದ ಭಜನಾ ಸಪ್ತಾಹ ಮಹೋತ್ಸವವನ್ನು ಕೋವಿಡ್-19ರ ಕಾರಣದಿ೦ದ ಮು೦ದೂಡಲಾಗಿದ್ದು ಭಜನಾ ಸಪ್ತಾಹ ಮಹೋತ್ಸವವನ್ನು 2021ನೇ ವರುಷದ ಮಾರ್ಚನಲ್ಲಿ ನಡೆಯಲಿದೆ...

Om Birla elected new Lok Sabha Speaker

National Democratic Alliance nominee Om Birla was on Wednesday unanimously elected as speaker of the Lok Sabha with several parties moving a motion in his support.

There was no other candidate in the fray and the motion moved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to choose the Kota-Bundi MP as speaker was adopted by a voice vote.

A total of 13 motions were moved in support of Birla.

Since the motion moved by Modi, also leader of the House, was adopted, the other motions became infructuous.

Birla was declared elected as speaker by pro-tem Speaker Virendra Kumar.

Modi led the new speaker to the presiding officer’s chair.

Leaders from the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and the Trinamool Congress went up the podium to greet the 56-year-old new speaker of the Lower House.

Though the Congress and the DMK had moved notices for supporting Birla as the speaker well past the 12 noon Tuesday deadline, the pro tem Speaker allowed it to be included as a ‘special case’.

Birla, who won his first Lok Sabha election in 2014, was again elected this year from Rajasthan’s Kota-Bundi seat.

No Comments

Leave A Comment