Log In
ಪಣಿಯಾಡಿ ಶ್ರೀಅನ೦ತಾಸನ ಶ್ರೀಲಕ್ಷ್ಮೀಅನ೦ತಪದ್ಮನಾಭ ಸನ್ನಿಧಿಯಲ್ಲಿ ಭಕ್ತರಿ೦ದ ಸಮೂಹಿಕ ಶ್ರಮದಾನ...

BJP’s Om Birla set to be next Lok Sabha Speaker

Two-time Bharatiya Janata Party MP Om Birla was named National Democratic Alliance’s nominee for Lok Sabha Speaker’s post on Tuesday.

Once nominated, Birla, who won from Kota-Bundi parliamentary seat in Rajasthan, will easily become the Speaker as the National Democratic Alliance has a clear majority in the lower house.

A notice has been given to the Lok Sabha Secretariat by the BJP proposing Birla for the post and bringing a motion for his election.

The motion has been backed by all NDA allies, including All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, as well parties like Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party and Biju Janata Dal.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed the name of Birla for the post, party sources said.

The election for the post is scheduled for Wednesday.

The Opposition has not yet announced any candidate for the post while Tuesday is the last day to file nomination.

“BJD, Shiv Sena, Akali Dal, National People’s Party, Mizo National Front, Lok Janshakti Party, YSRCP, JD-U, AIADMK and Apna Dal have given the notice to support Birla’s candidature for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker.

“I have spoken to Congress leaders K Suresh and Gulab Nabi Azad. They have not signed till now but I think they would not oppose Birla’s candidature,” Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi told reporters in New Delhi.

The Congress and N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party have not given any confirmation to support the candidature of NDA candidate.

Birla, 57, has been MLA from Rajasthan thrice and MP twice.

If elected, he will succeed eight-term MP Sumitra Mahajan as Lok Sabha speaker.

Usually, seniority is considered for Lok Sabha speaker’s post but there have been instances when first-time and second-time lawmakers were elected to the chair.

Manohar Joshi, who was elected as Lok Sabha speaker in 2002, was then a first-time MP.

He had succeed GMC Balayogi, a second-time MP who died in a helicopter crash.

No Comments

Leave A Comment